Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-07-2010, 19:54   #1

Boat: Shell Swifty 14, & 24' Culler / Bolger cat ketch sharpie
Silver Solder for Marine Use ?

Just curious...

I need to make up one more leeboard pivot, to match the 1 example I have. They are brass. I've lined up the welder. My biggest question is where to get cheap brass round stock. But that's not my post here.

What I couldn't help thinking was, could these be brazed? It's 1-3/8" diam with a 1-1/8" diam branch into it. Like a piping reducing tee, only solid. Or, like a king pin assembly.

As a piping engineer, I work with a lot of brass/bronze/copper. We'd readily hi-temp braze something like this with sil-phos (silver phosphorus), or even silver solder if sil-phos wasn't a 'go'. I know such is not good if you are looking at steam service instead of ambient tempo water and similar fluids. But what about boat use?

Question:
Can brass and marine use handle braze joints? If so, are either of these alloys useful? Or are special alloy rods required?

Yes, I can call my vendors, who will call their factory, who will get back to me... This place has a lot of knowledge. What are your experiences?
bassman1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-2010, 20:15   #2

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
With a large contact area (wide overlap) it should be OK if you can get the silver to flow thru-out.
Old 25-07-2010, 20:25   #3
PAR

Boat: 1960 Chris Craft, 1957 Clyde, 1961 Atkins, 1986 Macgregor 65, plus three of my own design and build
Send a message via Skype™ to PAR
Sil-Phos is quite strong and possibly up to the task, I use it frequently, like last weekend when I had to replace the A/C air handler in the attic (140 degree attic here in mid summer).