Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2024, 08:50   #1

Boat: 1974 Pearson 26
Rudder bearing replacement

I’ve never had the pleasure of tackling this type of job before so how much of a PITA would it be to do this on a Pearson 34 ? Thx
Rol1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2024, 10:25   #2

Re: Rudder bearing replacement

Actually I'm looking a possible purchase of this boat and there is some play in the rudder so that's the question: is this a big job (i.e.: # hours typically required?) or relatively straightforward? Again I have no experience with this task so I don't know what I don't know... Thx.
Old 13-05-2024, 01:32   #3

Boat: BUILT!!! Roberts Mauritius 43ft

I installed my own rudder bearing but I couldn't buy one off the shelf so I had to import a suitable blank from the US. It wasn't the exact internal diameter so I had to hand sand internally until the shaft just fitted in. (This was done with the knowledge of the US supplier and the local expert)

I then fiber-glassed around the bearing then fiber-glassed it into the hull.

Mine looked like this but it was not a cutless bearing.

Have you seen this thread?

Rudder Bearings:Pearson 34-II
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/f55/rudder-bearings-pearson-34-ii-52692.html
coopec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2024, 02:08   #4

Boat: BUILT!!! Roberts Mauritius 43ft

rudder bearings 1990 pearson 34-2

https://forums.sailboatowners.com/th...n-34-2.113579/

There's quite a few YouTube videos
coopec43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2024, 07:56   #5

Boat: Pearson 34-II

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rol1964 View Post
I’ve never had the pleasure of tackling this type of job before so how much of a PITA would it be to do this on a Pearson 34 ? Thx
Rol,