Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-02-2024, 16:20   #16
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Beneteau 432, C&C Landfall 42, Roberts Offshore 38
Re: interior paint?

I've known guys that can put down a coat of paint that looks like glass.

Alas, I'm not one of them, no matter how hard I try, the type of brush I use, (even expensive one's) the finish on my paint jobs clearly speak volumes.

While I was building my boat, I got to know a guy that was rebuilding a 24' stonehorse.
He was a mastercraftsman by trade. When it came time to paint the hull, he patiently waited for the perfect day, little wind, low humidity, etc and proceeded to put down a coat of paint, the likes of which I had never seen. It was as perfect a paint job as I've ever seen. Myself, and others, decreed it to a "masterpiece", yet this guy would eyeball down the hull and see blemishes only he could see and he deemed the paint job a disaster.
Waiting a few days for the paint to dry, he sanded the whole hull back down, and once again, waited for a perfect weather window and once again, another perfect paint job, as perfect as the first. This time, however, he was happy.

It takes that kind of fastidiousness to put down the perfect coat of paint. Mere mortals, such as I, do not possess this skill.
MicHughV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2024, 07:18   #17
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Pacific Seacraft Orion MK II

I'm not sure why you want to use house paint? There are marine paints made specifically for this application. Here is a link to Defender with dozens of choices https://defender.com/en_us/catalogse...opside%20paint
I used Brightside on my interior and it has been fantastic, and of course many many colors to choose from.
Americanrancher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2024, 07:47   #18