Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2022, 18:15   #46
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Re: Engine bed: Fix mounts to aluminum bar - will it work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dieseldude View Post
As an engineer, I am aware of properties of materials and cost vs. benefit and performance. Of course engine components are designed with compromise considering such factors as cost, strength, heat resistance, durability, mass, etc. That being said, the greatest mass of material that most small to medium size cruising boat engines are made of is cast iron. This would be followed by steel, then perhaps aluminum. Then smaller amounts of various other alloys. Stainless steel is generally one of the least used materials in boat engines.

Ideally, engine parts are made of the best available materials according to conditions that they must endure. But compromises must be made, and often cost is a big consideration. Not sure of the point of your question. Example: It might be great to have a stainless steel oil pan, as it sits above a bilge that can hold sea water that can slop over it. But the cost of one would be several times that of mild steel. So the manufacturer uses mild steel to keep the cost competitive.

The question of using mild steel or stainless for mounts is comes down to cost and convenience, as both are of sufficient strength and durability.