Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-10-2013, 10:09   #1

Boat: S2 11.0
What to do with diesel in the tank over Winter?

I have an S2 11.0 sailboat with a 70-gal aluminum fuel tank. I keep the boat near Annapolis and leave it in the water during the Winter. Winters are cold but not harsh, and we do Winterize. My question pertains to what to do with the diesel that's in the tank. There are roughly 50 gallons, of which about 15% is older than this past season. (I am a newbie sailor who bought the boat in January 2013 and only added 12 gallons all year.) So, the fuel is of unknown age but mostly older than a year. It has been treated with a high-grade (well....high cost anyway) fuel additive. I have noticed that when I change my fuel filters (I use 10 microns) the fuel is black and there's a bit of sludge in the bottom of the old Racor 200. This does not seem right but the engine seems to be running fine on the treated, filtered fuel.

My questions are:
1. Should I top off the tank, treat it again, and just crank it up again in the Spring?
2. Should I 'polish' the fuel and somehow clean the tank and first stage lines? If so, is this best left until Spring, since the engine will not likely be operated after Thanksgiving and various flora and fauna could grow in there over the Winter?
3. Should I remove the fuel from the tank? This seems counter to everything I've read about keeping tanks full to avoid condensation, but the tank seems full of questionable fuel.
4. Is there a 4th approach I should take?

Welcoming the wisdom and experience of my fellow CFers...