Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Multihull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2021, 19:44   #1

What Catamaran should I get?

Hi all!

I'm new here and looking for a new adventure to get some joy for life back and I figured buying a catamaran and sailing in to the sunset would do that for me.

I have $AUD 150,000 so I was wondering what you would recommend. Initially I would plan to learn by sailing around Australia and then I'd want to make my way to Indonesia when the world allows it. After that who knows. I have been told that for water sailing">blue water sailing 37ft is recommended?

I am new to this world and any advice or tips is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!
dowlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2021, 21:37   #2

Boat: Fisher pilothouse sloop 32'
Re: What Catamaran should I get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dowlo View Post
Hi all!

I'm new here and looking for a new adventure to get some joy for life back and I figured buying a catamaran and sailing in to the sunset would do that for me.

I have $AUD 150,000 so I was wondering what you would recommend. Initially I would plan to learn by sailing around Australia and then I'd want to make my way to Indonesia when the world allows it. After that who knows. I have been told that for blue water sailing 37ft is recommended?

Thanks!!

Hi, and welcome to the madhouse .
According to one member here a lagoon 400 is the bees knees, able to outperform the big guns etc etc so perhaps that could be your aspirational objective.
Once again, welcome and enjoy the ride.

Life is 10% the cards you are dealt, 90% how you play em
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-2021, 21:39   #3