Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-10-2023, 07:08   #1

Draft too deep?

Hi All, I’m a newbie here, and I’ve got a question:
My wife and I are about to buy our first yacht and I was a little disappointed to find that contrary to originally advertised, her draft is not 1.9m but is 2.3m - a whopping 40cm more.
It’ll make no difference during ocean crossings (could actually help) but should we be concerned about not being able to get into some marinas? Obviously there’ll be mini fishing harbours always unsuitable to anything over 2m but what proportion of modern recreational marinas could be closed to us in the Med and around the world? Or should we not worry?
JrbSail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2023, 08:10   #2

Re: Draft too deep?

Really depends on what cruising area you are looking at.

2.3 meter draft would limit where you can go in Florida and the Bahamas. Not so much marinas, but in cruising to them/anchoring out.

Can be done, but you will be limited.

Med-- no idea.
Wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-10-2023, 10:34   #3
CLOD

Boat: none

I have a 1.93M draft. It definitely becomes limiting in the Florida Keys and the Bahamas even for marinas.

BUT lots of boats cruise with a larger draft and you have to decide the balance for your plans.
Old 28-10-2023, 10:59   #4
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

It will restrict you in a few.. a couple of examples are Almerimar and Roquetas De Mar around the corner would be to shallow to enter but you would fit in Agua Dulce 5nm further on.
Just have to research and plan beforehand.

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..
"I Love You.. ". Murray Roman.
Yet the 'useful idiots' of the West still dance to the beat of the apartheid drums.