Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-02-2024, 03:56   #1

Boat: Roberts 36 ketch
Can I get some opinions? Ketch - Australia

I would like some opinions about two 36' ketch I found. I am in Western Australia, been looking for over one year and finally found two within my price range that kinda tick the boxes of what I am after.
Not many ketch below 40' and surely none in WA where I am. I fly out two wees ago to look at the one in Geelong VIC and flying out next week to look at the one in QLD.
About me/us. We are 60 and 54, wife sailed lots more than me in her early life, I have extensive experience in mechanics and electrical, back in the late 80s I was one of the leading engineers (don't hold it agains me) in an Italian company that produced marinized engines. I did few Atlantic crossings to Africa when I worked with fishermen (and much much younger).
Now we are looking for a ketch and do mainly coastal around Australia for a couple of years and venture to the blue water in the South Pacific.
If anyone is keen to give me an opinion, I would truly appreciate it.

Boat 1. Geelong.
https://www.boatsonline.com.au/boats...6-ketch/303283
The goods:
This boat comes with a 2 year old inflatable tender and a new Mercury 5HP
HF radio, Radar, AIS. Electronics is in very good order and working.
Strong Davits, new anodes, no osmosis. Boat is hauled out every year. Sails are all in good orders, I would give it 8/10. Great access to water tanks and fuel tanks.

The bads: