Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-01-2007, 08:33   #1

What size battery charger??

My house bank will be composed of 4 Deka golf cart batteries. I have a Honda 2000 watt gas generator I will use on the hook to charge batteries if necessary. My question is, although I can research output of different chargers I am having a problem finding out the requirements for input (amps) I would like to stay in the 15 amp range. How can I determine what size charger the Honda will handle? I would like to use a charger that has as much output amps that the Honda can handle without a undue strain. Am I missing something here--4 golf carts wired to produce 12 volts. I have never done any low voltage before and If I can get this answer I can complete my rewire project.
Mr. Fixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2007, 08:45   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Mr. Fixit,

Get a 100 amp charger if you're going to rely on the Honda on the hook. Anything smaller will take all day to bring the bank up. My guess is that you have a 400 amp bank. If you run it down 50% you'll run a 20 amp charger all day and still not get it up. This happened to a friend of mine that complained his fridge was shot. It wasn't, it was his batteries as he was relying on his Honda and a 20 amp charger!! A small charger is fine if you're on the dock and shorepower but if you're using a Honda get a real big charger. The Honda 2000 will easily run a 100 amp charger.
Old 18-01-2007, 09:00   #3
cruiser

2nd that. I have twin 90 amp chargers for my genset setup. They charge up a 420AH battery bank. Does it in an hour or less with our usage patterns.
ssullivan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2007, 09:07   #4
Eternal Member