Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-04-2024, 04:04   #1

Bonding System Questions

Hi guys, after 3 days of intense research on the topic I'm finding myself with a couple of questions I can't find, I'm gonna preface by saying that I'm very new to this world. (the boat in question is a wooden boat)

1. Should I use a #6 AWG wire (both bonding and lighting protection) to connect every metal component on my boat (as of right now the old bonding system is a daisy-chain type), or just to connect the bonding bus to the sacrificial anode?
2. Should I connect Every metal component on my boat or just the ones in contact with an electrolyte (water)?
3. How should I connect the bonding wire to a metal component? I've seen a lot of photos but no one actually connecting it so i'm not sure about it.
4. I don't know where the sacrificial anodes in my boat for the bonding system are, I know there is 1 on the propeller + 1 on the propeller shaft and 2 on the keel (I suppose the bonding system to be connected there), so if you know of some other common places where a sacrificial anode for a bonding system could be, that could help.
5. as of right now the old bonding system is using a flat copper wire, but I haven't seen anyone using it so I don't think it's the best way to go about it and I'm looking to change it all, I'm gonna link some photos below:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3356.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	400.6 KB
ID:	288971   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3357.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	363.0 KB
ID:	288972  

Name:	IMG_9060.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	417.5 KB
ID:	288973  
AleCiotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2024, 04:28   #2
always in motion is the future

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64
Re: Bonding System Questions