Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-09-2020, 01:32   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 32
ST50 wind showing boat speed

I recently fixed my ST 50 Wind transducer. It wasn’t reading wind direction properly but now is. Only problem is now that I have reinstalled the instrument it is reading boat speed not wind speed. True wind reads boat speed, apparent wind setting reads zero.
Any suggestions?
Ssas5342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2020, 01:36   #2
Registered User
 
sebba's Avatar

Join Date: May 2018
Location: Arad, ROMANIA
Boat: Gib'Sea 43
Posts: 17
Re: ST50 wind showing boat speed

I guess your wind speed sensor is not working or is not properly connected.
__________________
- S/Y Haimana
sebba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2020, 20:09   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 32
Re: ST50 wind showing boat speed

Checked all the wiring and it all seems correct. Kind of unusual that it would read boat speed at all. I know it communicates with the boat speed instrument to calculate apparent wind, but why would it come up on the display?
Ssas5342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-09-2020, 22:02   #4
Moderator
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 16,724
Re: ST50 wind showing boat speed

It appears that your apparent wind speed is not being measured at all. Thus when set to true wind speed it has zero as the apparent WS and calculates the true wind speed as the boat speed, per the usual algorithm.

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II lying Port Cygnet again, freezing our bums off.
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:23   #5
Registered User
 
__fdom__'s Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Germany
Boat: Najad 343
Posts: 17
Re: ST50 wind showing boat speed

Shouldn't the windsensor measure apparent wind and true wind is calculated from apparent wind speed, wind angle and boat speed?

I do know the ST50 but it sound rather like a config issue or during issue (as of that the boat speed pulses reach the wind sensor input). But then I read that the wiring had been checked already.
__fdom__ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boat, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: Autohelm, Raymarine, ST50 wind speed&direction transducer captainduke General Classifieds (no boats) 1 07-12-2019 15:35
Anemometer not showing wind speed. Why does this keep happening to me? Cool Hand Luke Marine Electronics 14 27-09-2017 08:31
Plotter (B&G Vulcan 5) not showing boat/paddlewheel speed phantomracer Marine Electronics 5 02-06-2017 14:01
ST50 Speed Problem Johncabot Marine Electronics 5 17-06-2013 06:45
For Sale: ST50 Speed & Depth Display Heads, Airmar Transducers KestrelBuck Classifieds Archive 7 30-06-2011 04:18

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.