Cruisers Forum
 


Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-01-2023, 13:56   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2023
Boat: X-442 by X-yachts
Posts: 2
Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Hello, I have nx2 instruments set with a nx2 server included. My original wind race transducer broke so I bought a new gWind™ Race Wired Transducer with a Connector Adapter Cable. I see the lights on the server getting input but why don’t I see any data on the displays?

Someone any idea? Settings or...

Thank you in advance.

Sailing boat: X-442
Located at the moment: St Martin
#NX2 #Silva #Garmin
Prestige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2023, 11:51   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Vancouver
Boat: Ericson 27
Posts: 553
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

On my old nexus wind I can still pull in the data from my gwind when it’s wired into the sensor. It was some of the troubleshooting I did when i was trying to figure out why the modem Garmin stuff wasn’t picking up the wind reliably.

Have you used the software for your nexus server to see if it’s picking up the wind sensor? Also, try directly connecting the nexus wind display directly to the gEind sensor. That should also work.
hjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-07-2023, 00:38   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2023
Posts: 4
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Hi!
I will probably face the same problem as you @Prestige. I also need to swap my Nexus for a gWind from Garmin and connect it to the NX2 server. Have you solved the problem?
In the Garmin manual it says to connect the mast cable to terminals 5-8 on the server, not to "wind"..... However, these are already occupied with me. I am curious.
NUcleusdentatus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2024, 07:13   #4
Registered User
 
Mirage35's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sailing Lake Ontario
Boat: Mirage 35
Posts: 1,148
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Any further information on this?

I have a Nexus NX2 server and need to replace the Nexus wind transducer. The Garmin documentation is blindingly unclear but it looks to me like the gWind wired transducer should connect directly.

Can anyone confirm this?

FWIW I'm looking at the standard gWind, not the race version.

Edit: I see the original post refers to a connector adapter cable. What is that and in what circumstances is it required?
__________________
Beam me up, Scotty. There's no intelligent life down here.
Mirage35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2024, 07:45   #5
Registered User
 
Mirage35's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sailing Lake Ontario
Boat: Mirage 35
Posts: 1,148
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

I think I found the answer to my own question, and to the one above mine.

Extract from the gWind installation instructions:

Nexus Connection Considerations
If you change from a Nexus wind sensor to the gWind sensor,
you must move the mast cable from the wind port to the network
port on the Nexus server on pins 5, 6, 7, and 8. The network
server is NX2, and the classic server is BUS. See the Nexus
device manual for more information.

So it looks like the gWind uses the same protocol as the daisy-chained instruments on that server port, rather than whatever the Nexus device used that needed its own connection.

Wish me luck.
__________________
Beam me up, Scotty. There's no intelligent life down here.
Mirage35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2024, 08:18   #6
Registered User
 
Mirage35's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sailing Lake Ontario
Boat: Mirage 35
Posts: 1,148
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Adding more information as I find it.

The NX2 Server manual shows that the original Nexus transducer could be connected via the "wind" port or directly to the instrument, i.e. daisy chained with everything else. This second option is what Garmin is recommending for the gWind.

There is also a server setting that has to be changed: C70 on/off tells the Nexus network where the wind instrument is connected.

Once I get the instrument and play with it on the boat I'll update here if I learn anything else.
__________________
Beam me up, Scotty. There's no intelligent life down here.
Mirage35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-06-2024, 15:18   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Vancouver
Boat: Ericson 27
Posts: 553
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirage35 View Post
I think I found the answer to my own question, and to the one above mine.

Extract from the gWind installation instructions:

Nexus Connection Considerations
If you change from a Nexus wind sensor to the gWind sensor,
you must move the mast cable from the wind port to the network
port on the Nexus server on pins 5, 6, 7, and 8. The network
server is NX2, and the classic server is BUS. See the Nexus
device manual for more information.

So it looks like the gWind uses the same protocol as the daisy-chained instruments on that server port, rather than whatever the Nexus device used that needed its own connection.

Wish me luck.
That’s correct. I can hang my old Nexus instruments off that bus and they work fine with the modern garmin wind
hjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2024, 06:26   #8
Registered User
 
Mirage35's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sailing Lake Ontario
Boat: Mirage 35
Posts: 1,148
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

I now have the new transducer but of course it comes with a very short cable and a Garmin connector that I will have to amputate and change because it's not compatible with my existing in-mast wiring.

Before I potentially butcher a $400 device, do you have any clues what I will find in the cable? Wire colours, is it easy to match them to the Nexus server connection, anything else I should now.

Any information greatly appreciated.
__________________
Beam me up, Scotty. There's no intelligent life down here.
Mirage35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2024, 06:43   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Vancouver
Boat: Ericson 27
Posts: 553
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirage35 View Post
I now have the new transducer but of course it comes with a very short cable and a Garmin connector that I will have to amputate and change because it's not compatible with my existing in-mast wiring.

Before I potentially butcher a $400 device, do you have any clues what I will find in the cable? Wire colours, is it easy to match them to the Nexus server connection, anything else I should now.

Any information greatly appreciated.
It's been a while... with ours, we got the whole kit, which included the GND-10, the masthead sensor, and the mast cable. In that case, the new mast cable matched the old nexus cable in terms of colours. bare drain wire as the negative, then three other wires, two of which are the RS485 pair, and the fourth that is +12v. The newer mast-top connector is nicer and more waterproof (just watch out for the o-ring, it can try and runaway) so we stuck with that rather than using our old mast cable.
hjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2024, 07:54   #10
Registered User
 
Mirage35's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sailing Lake Ontario
Boat: Mirage 35
Posts: 1,148
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Thanks for that - gives me a good starting point. I'll play with it at sea level first to make sure I understand the connections before heading up the mast with it.
__________________
Beam me up, Scotty. There's no intelligent life down here.
Mirage35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2024, 08:21   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Vancouver
Boat: Ericson 27
Posts: 553
Re: Garmin gWind™ Race Wired Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mirage35 View Post
Thanks for that - gives me a good starting point. I'll play with it at sea level first to make sure I understand the connections before heading up the mast with it.
Also check the manual for the GND-10. I think it has a section on how to make the field connector, which identifies the conductors.
hjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, race, transducer, wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin gWind issues Hillard Marine Electronics 33 17-06-2024 17:58
Garmin gwind Transducer Display Capt Y Knot Marine Electronics 6 22-08-2020 12:00
Garmin Wired GWind JohnR64 Marine Electronics 0 27-05-2020 10:57
Garmin Gwind weephee Marine Electronics 5 31-01-2019 08:35
Garmin GWIND frankv1205 Marine Electronics 3 10-07-2018 21:52

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.