Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-04-2023, 17:29   #1

Rocna 10 vs CQR 45

I've read a lot about how Rocna anchors are superior in all metrics, but have only used CQR in the past. The new boat, Downeaster 38, came with an undersized Rocna 10 which I would never truly trust because it is two sizes below the recommended for this size boat.

My plan was to sell it and get the right size, but then I was gifted a CQR 45 from a generous neighbor. It got me thinking about the tests I have seen when the Rocna anchors provide several times more holding power. Now I'm debating the merits of the two. My gut tells me go with the CQR 45, because I have no experience with Rocna and it's hard to believe that half the size anchor will compete. But some of the tests I've seen indicate that may be true. What are your guys experiences? Can a smaller Rocna compete with a larger CQR?
sharkdiver84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2023, 17:56   #2
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Benford 38 Fantail Cruiser
Re: Rocna 10 vs CQR 45

We sleep well with our 55lb. Rocna on our "Benford Fantail 38". We had a CQR many years ago, there is no comparison in our opinion.
Old 22-04-2023, 18:03   #3

Boat: Cruising Catamaran

Holding power when set is one thing and a heavier anchor may prevail, it is more about drag and re-setting. Sometimes CQRs do not set properly at all, or when there is a current or wind change they do not re-set nearly as readily as the more modern anchors - that is just my experience using both types.
Tin Tin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2023, 18:04   #4

Boat: Luders 33 - hull 23

Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkdiver84 View Post
I've read a lot about how Rocna anchors are superior in all metrics, but have only used CQR in the past. The new boat, Downeaster 38, came with an undersized Rocna 10 which I would never truly trust because it is two sizes below the recommended for this size boat.