Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2014, 21:12   #376
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1978 Hudson Force 50 Ketch
Re: Rebel Heart Crew Suing.....

Deleting Posts....
Kinda like Louis Learner over at the IRS losing all those incriminating emails...
Old 11-07-2014, 21:31   #377
cruiser

Okay - found it over on the Xerq forum:

Quote:
Originally posted by Member
Yeah, I hear you. Working hard and doing @!*$ jobs (sometimes literally) is almost enjoyable when its towards something you're really motivated by.

I was an EMT and try to keep current on CPR/first aid stuff through the Red Cross. I also am a PADI divemaster and rescue diver which doesn't mean much, but it's exposure and practical experience with water related stuff. I was also in the Navy, and worked as a lifeguard one summer in San Diego. We have a chain of events we can kick off in the event of serious emergencies to get in contact with various search and rescue networks. I have a satellite phone with the USCG's Pacific SAR coordination team programmed on speed dial, and we have an EPIRB that when activated manually (or gets wet) will start broadcasting its GPS position and a unique signature for our vessel to satellites around the world for 48 hours.

The Pacific crossing, as big as it is, is generally benign and is downwind with the trades so there isn't a lot of bad weather. We'll wait (like most boats do) for the ITCZ (doldrums at the equator) to be small, the tradewinds to be strong, and the cyclone probability to be extremely small. Put all that together with a well found boat, good seamanship, and decent weather updates, and you chop down a lot of the variables.

The biggest thing that I'm concerned about is having a one year old and three year old onboard that really won't be able to walk around much, for a month, because the boat moves so much. Some days it's not bad but somedays it's extremely violent.