Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-01-2024, 07:05   #46

Location: Boynton Beach, Florida. Cruising Bahamas through Spring 2024
Boat: Manta 40
Re: The Death of the Cruising Guide Book

We use whatever reference sources we can to validate our planning and then try to share with the community.

So I’m a Contributing Editor for Waterway Guide, a beta tester for Aqua Map, and a frequent contributor as of recent for No Foreign Land. Granted, we have only cruised the US and Bahamas, so our strategies may need to shift in the future.

We document above water and below water, including some drone footage, of anchorages and the surrounding areas. We share about stores, restaurants, and marinas (when we stay at one - which is not that often).

We place a link to our Facebook page in many of our reviews, where you can see many photos. We have just shy of 4,000 followers. Cruisers come up to us and thank us often - including one yesterday who transited the Devil’s Backbone the day after us this week, because of our FB post.

And yes, there are those who think that we shouldn’t share. That anchorages should remain a secret for those to explore and find out themselves.

What do we get from this? Well, satisfaction that we are helping others. To date, we haven’t received “one star” (worth a penny from what I’ve gathered). We haven’t sold one photo from our website to a cruiser as of yet!

So, carry on. We’ll keep sharing.

Jason
SV Breathe
www.facebook.com/breathesaildive
www.breathesaildive.com
JasonS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2024, 07:23   #47

Boat: Valiant Esprit 37