Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2017, 08:53   #1

Boat: Catalina 34 Mk1
Need advice on repairing traveler damage!

I could really use some advice/guidance here- I'm a total noob at this. Sailing yesterday in a stiff breeze, my traveler came right out of the deck on the port side- and fairly loose on the starboard side. I was able to secure the boom so as not to cause any more damage, but now I need to repair it. Unfortunately, I’ve really shot through my spring boat budget on other projects, so I need to try and do this one myself. The boat is still pretty new to me, and I have zero experience with fiberglass repair or bedding deck hardware- So I guess it’s time to learn.
Apparently, this is not an uncommon problem with the early Catalina 34s. The traveler is not thru bolted into the cabin. I suppose it’s amazing that this didn’t happen sooner. Catalina sells 9” bolts to fix the problem, and I ordered some. While I am waiting for them to arrive I need to fix the area I damaged. There is a steel plate underneath the fiberglass that the bolts go through, and then there was a layer of fiberglass over it, and the track on top of that. Am I right in thinking that first I need to clear the area, then epoxy down the steel plate, and then fiberglass over the whole area. Then when I get the new bolts I re-bed the traveler track all the way through the deck? Is this the sort of project a complete noob can handle?
What sort of products do I need to purchase?
Do I need to replace the steel plates as well? It looks as though they are in two halves, and only one half came up. I doubt it was one piece and that the force was strong enough to rip it in a straight line…
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	traveler1.JPG
Views:	196
Size:	97.1 KB