Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2017, 09:58   #1

Galvanized standing rigging

I know this has been discussed before but I'd like hear from anyone using or has experience with galvanized standing rigging. I'm replacing mine on my Cape Dory 28 with galvanized as I have many years of experience with it in a commercial setting but haven't seen it used anywhere recreationally except traditional wooden sailboats.
fish53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 15:19   #2

Boat: 38 roberts ketch
Re: Galvanized standing rigging

I replaced my standing rigging 4-5 years ago – ketch rig, I used s/s on the 2 forestays, one of which carries a furler, the other hank ons, and the 2 mainmast outer main shrouds which occasionally come into contact with the sails – I think s/s is a bit less likely to cause chafe. All other rigging I replaced with 7/19 gal. 8mm. I've had other boats with gal. Rigging, no complaints.
One experiment I made which has been interesting – the 2 mainmast backstays I had made up with copper swages and s/s thimbles; those 2 wires are showing significant amounts of surface rust – all other wires I used gal. Swages and thimbles, none are showing any rust. I dont know if its the copper or the s/s thats causing the reaction but I do know it aint a good idea to use either. I suspect the copper because all other wires have s/s shackles on their ends.
As far as I can tell the only disadvantage of gal. Over s/s is the cosmetics when it comes to selling the boat. One of my favourite advantages of gal wire – it shows its age, s/s doesnt which makes it more likely to fail unexpectedly. I have seen 50 year old rusty as hell gal. Wire cut to reveal a substantially unaffected core, another reason for my liking of this material.