Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2020, 07:12   #61

Boat: Lagoon 440, Sea Of Love
Re: Spectra Watermaker Feed Pump Vertical Lift?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chotu View Post
Thank you. This is some thing I’m still learning about. So, you don’t think it will be a problem? If I exceed the recommendation by spectra, it won’t damage the clark pump in someway? As in, there will be a fraction of a drop in input pressure to the clark pump? That fraction isn’t half is it? LOL

With a 120 psi pump, if I had to lift it up to 6 feet, will there be a substantial drop in pressure? With that negatively affect the clark pump?
Any extra work being done by the Clark pump will reduce its life or increase maintenance...seals etc. Since it is the most expensive pump...penny wise and lb foolish as they say. And you should ask Spectra because this would effect your warranty.
sail4evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2020, 07:29   #62

Boat: 50ft Custom Fast Catamaran

Quote:
Originally Posted by sail4evr View Post
Any extra work being done by the Clark pump will reduce its life or increase maintenance...seals etc. Since it is the most expensive pump...penny wise and lb foolish as they say. And you should ask Spectra because this would effect your warranty.
I agree. I think we came up with the right solution in this thread.

Separate lift pump to Pump water up to a Y fitting at the bridgedeck level.

Install Spectra/spectra pumps at desired bridgedeck level.

One side of Y fitting goes to spectra input.

The other side goes overboard with any excess pressure.