Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-01-2011, 20:09   #1

Leaking Jabsco 36950 Water Pump

Hi, I have a 10 year old Jabsco 36950-2 Electric Water System Pump that is leaking from the bottom plate. I tightened the 4 bottom screws and this decreased the flow of water, though the pump still leaks. Any suggestions on what may be leaking -or- is it time to service the pump.

The Jabsco 43990-0061 service kit includes the diaphragm, valve set, and pulsation dampeners. Is this what I need?
Thanks,
Don
Capt.Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2011, 05:25   #2

Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Most likely a tear in the diaphram - easy to fix and the service kit should take care of it.

Mark

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2011, 06:58   #3

Boat: Beneteau First 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt.Don View Post
...The Jabsco 43990-0061 service kit includes the diaphragm, valve set, and pulsation dampeners. Is this what I need?
Thanks,
Don
Yes. We just went through this exercise with the same pump and the same leakage problem. The difficulty did prove to be the Pulse Damper, a kind of mattress looking rubber pad that forms the bottom of the pump chambers under the base plate. These and the other rubber parts do wear-out, particularly if you have and chlorine in your fresh water (you will find the inside of the pump covered with a black somewhat sticky coating--oxidized rubber).

We found that the parts we needed were the least costly at DepCo Pump.

FWIW...
"It is not so much for its beauty that the Sea makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air, that emanation from the waves, that so wonderfully renews a weary spirit."