Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-06-2017, 01:25   #1

Boat: Skysail 39
Fresh water problems

Hi there,
I'm pretty new with boats and we have a 39 feet sailing boat that we bought late last season. We are slowly discovering the challenges of a boat from 1981. All in all she's in good shape but she's also in the need of getting a good amount of updating.

I have found several things that needs fixing and one of these is the sea water intake. The plumbing needs to be replaced - not to the standard I would want. The intake is at the head and we only open the valve when we use the toilet, normally it is closed.

Yesterday when at anchoring in our archipelago I left the valve open as we were below and I thought it would be convenient to be able to use the sea water outlet (manual foot pump) at the sink.

I didn't think more about this, only made a mental note of closing the sea water intake valve before lifting the anchor later.

My wife kindly brewed us some coffee and when drinking this we both realised a something was wrong. The coffee tasted weird...

I tasted our fresh water and that also had a foul taste - almost salty. We had filled our main tank (100 litre) the day before from our normal source at our home harbour so we could quickly rule out any contamination from there.

The water tasted almost like our sea water! We are in the Baltic so the water isn't very salty but I thought the tap water was not quite as salty as our seawater but certainly not our normal fresh water....