Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-02-2004, 17:52   #1

Buying a boat

Hey,

I'm a student in Canada and am planning on buying a boat (with a couple of friends) and heading for the high seas in the fall after I finish up my degree.

I need to know what to look for in a cruising boat (our price range is around $15 000). we were planning on a 25' - 30' boat.

Any advice????
scott_CAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2004, 19:04   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Amanda Faye 61' Custom Irwin aftcockpit ketch
Beat the bush's looking and be Fearless making lots of low offers. It does work. good luck.
irwinsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2004, 03:24   #3

Three Guys and a Boat

On a thirty footer ya'll better be Friendly. And my advice is... ( ok- where's the drumroll ) ahemm,cough-cough- Look at Cascades line of boats. They are undervalued usually, ye get a lot for your money. Strong as an anvil, they have been made for close to forty years, made several circumnavigations-their kinda the Land Rover of the Maritime Establishment. One more thing- make sure all three of ya are POLITE-on a boat two's company, threes' a MOB
29cascadefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2004, 05:11   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
If you plan to stay in your price range on the initial purchase you should plan on a few things. Actually all the following is still good no matter what you do.

1. Since you have partners you should spend the money on a surveyor to get a complete assessment of what needs to be done to the boat to leave port safely. It will save argumnets later on when they all blame you for picking a bad boat. With your budget you won't be getting anything spectacular so you need to check it out with someone that really knows boats. It's worth the extra money.