Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2017, 21:29   #1

Short hand sailing

I am new to the boating world and I was wondering what kind of boat I would be able to sail by myself with ought the need of a crew. I plan to live aboard this ship and sail from island to island in the Caribbean for a few years and then take it across the North Atlantic to Italy and Spain and then up to England and the Netherlands so any tips and advice would be really appreciated
hurrikane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2017, 04:48   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Short hand sailing

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, hurrikane.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2017, 20:06   #3

Thank you for the welcome, but any advice to shorthand sailing?
hurrikane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2017, 21:13   #4

Location: Cayuga Lake NY - or on the boat somewhere south of there
Boat: Caliber 40

most boats can be set up for short handed sailing. My wife is disabled so i am de facto single handing in most situations. I wouldnt want to try to do that with a boat bigger than the 40 ft. I have now. You need a rock solid autopilot, self tailing winches and all lines led to the cockpit. The single hardest maneuver for me sailing alone is getting the anchor up in a high wind. But you can figure it out like most other things. As for long passages you are supposed to have somebody awake on watch at all times but quite a few people do it anyway
sck5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2017, 22:10   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurrikane View Post
I am new to the boating world and I was wondering what kind of boat I would be able to sail by myself
This is an easy question to answer, any sailboat can be soloed when you know what you are doing.
Old 25-04-2017, 22:12   #6
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by hurrikane View Post