Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2015, 16:33   #1

Cruising without Insurance.

Hello, I am a professional yachtsmen of 7 years, about to take my first full-time captain's position (I've done many deliveries and project manager stuff, as well as served in various positions in realm of white boats).
There are a couple of things bothering me about the boat I am joining, but the principal is that the owner has elected not to carry insurance...liability or otherwise. He justifies it by keeping 100k in the boat safe, and saying this will be enough to cover anything that happens.
I am an American, so I might be thinking too litigiously, but I wanted to throw this out there to any professionals in the industry. Would you take this position under these terms? I'm not saying we need to carry hull insurance, but no liability?
I have drafted a contract (something I've done many times before), but this time it has many provisions in the "What If" category, essentially CYA should anything happen. Its grammatically bullet-proof, but I'm wondering if this is enough to remove my personal liability, and to protect my license in the case of an incident.
Also, in my experience, many marinas/customs/canal operators require to carry liability. Is this a valid experience, or am I misinformed? We will be circumnavigating, so this is quite important.
The boat is definitely designed as an owner/operator long-distance cruiser.
Many thanks in advance...and bonus points if the person who chose "fairweather" responds.
fairweather1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 16:38   #2

Boat: TBD
Re: Cruising without insurance.

Would that $100K be accessible at the bottom of the ocean after an emergency? A law firm I worked for some years back set up trust accounts and escrows for some folks who were self-insured for one yacht and some real estate. A bunch of bucks in a box doesn't sound very prudent to me. IMHO.