Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2009, 06:34   #1

Boat: Hunter 42 Passage
Send a message via Skype™ to Panamajames
Raw Water Intake Hoses from Genset and Engine Question

Both raw water hoses intake have 1 inch bubbles on the outside of the hoses in several places. Kohler generator has only 60 hours on it but is 5 years old. Should I replace the hoses. They are very thick and not sure why this is happening to the hoses. I am a little new to maintenance issues. Please tell me what you think. Thanks.
Old 05-10-2009, 06:43   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Boat: 1978 CT48
I'd replace them.
James S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 06:59   #3

Hoses

The hoses look brand new except for the bubbles .. They are not very high bubbles nor very big 1" Not soft on bubbles either.. Thanks for reply.

What is causing this. Old age?
Old 05-10-2009, 07:27   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: We're technically refugees from our home in Yemen now living in Lebenon
Sounds like some surface delamination...are they distributed in such a way that they look like some solvent or something else was spilled on them…splatter pattern?
If the bubbles are thin skinned and not deep they may not be an immediate concern.
I would replace them in any case....I just wouldn’t want to have them in the back of my mind any time the valves were open...these are the things that sink boats at the dock.
Old 05-10-2009, 08:06   #5

Hoses