Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-08-2014, 17:32   #1

Long Term Lay Up Ideas

Hi All,

I own a S&S designed, 1971 Allied 42XL hull #15 and she's in great shape. As a Navy Officer, I have received orders to leave Newport, RI and report aboard a deploying ship in San Diego, CA. Unfortunately, it is cost-prohibitive to move her across the country and I am far too emotionally attached to sell her. She'll be spending about 2 years on the hard under a Fairclough cover. Wondering if you would throw some layup ideas at me. Some items to consider include her Yanmar 4JH3E with 2100hrs, reverse cycle A/C, fresh water system, black/gray water systems, batteries, electronics, mast, bilge, etc... I appreciate your help.

Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1788.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	411.1 KB
ID:	86583  
Katannah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2014, 17:39   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Re: Long Term Lay Up Ideas

sell it,then she will become someone elses pride and joy.
owning boats at distance never works out well.
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-08-2014, 18:12   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(

Unfortunately and reluctantly I am with Atoll on this. 2 years is a long time.

If I were going to do it I would drain flush and preserve all fluids - remove and dispose of all batteries - remove all sails and canvass - unstep the mast and rig - drop any bimini arches.

I would find 50+ pounds of desiccant install it in the boat and have it vacuum wrapped and stored at a very reliable yard that will monitor the boat and replace the desiccant at 6 month intervals.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote