Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-04-2015, 12:48   #1

Boat: Chinook 34
Diesel dies when Idling

Hey all,

I am new to diesels and mine started doing something odd this last weekend.

When idling it died. It tries to turn over just fine and I have already determined it's not electrical. If I hand pump the fuel in, it idles fine. This makes me think something is wrong with the either the vacuum or maybe the filters need bleeding. If I increase the throttle it feeds okay.

However being new to a diesel I am not entirely sure.

Any suggestions and recommendations?

Thanks!
-Caolan.
Caolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-04-2015, 12:56   #2

Boat: 57' Laurent Giles Yawl
Re: Diesel dies when Idling

Hi!
This happens to me when a fuel filter is nearly clogged.

It spurred me to add a suction gauge to the filter.
Old 20-04-2015, 15:57   #3

Boat: Liberty 458

Quote:
Originally Posted by msponer View Post
Hi!
This happens to me when a fuel filter is nearly clogged.

It spurred me to add a suction gauge to the filter.
Fuel suction side is always a good candidate to start with. If you ever have a problem on the pressure side you'll either have a leak or rough running or no running.

Do you have a water trap before the final fuel filter? You always want to know 'my fuel is clean and there is no water or air in my fuel.'

A vacuum gauge will quickly highlight if you have an obstruction on the suction side. It is a visual check so easy to check everytime you stick your head in the engine room. It will also indicate if you have a drainback problem.

I know mine reads 5". At 8" I have an issue and should see a buildup in my Racors. I dont ever want to see 15" because then I'm cavitating on the suction side of my lift pump.