Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Engines and Propulsion Systems
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2009, 13:00   #1

BMW diesel and black steel diesel fuel tanks

Hi all,
I'm new at this and I finally figured out how to start "a thread", rather than just "jump" into one with similar questions, and inevitably (unintentionally) hi-jack it.
I have been seriously looking at a Lord Nelson 41, 1981 in fairly good shape. Most systems however, are original, like the BMW D50 50 HP 3 cyl. diesel with some five thousand hours, which, according to Kanani should have a cup of oil analysed, after a good warm up, to determine the state of the engine.
Should the engine need an OH, how difficult would it be to source replacement parts?
Also, the survey reads: original black steel diesel fuel tanks (which are now twenty eight years old), although visibly sound, is there not a corrosion concern with this type of metal?
I will probably have more technical questions as I familiarize myself with the boat.
In the meanwhile, I am sure to appreciate the technical feedback and thank you in advance for it.
J.P.
johnpair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 13:37   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: None at this time