Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-12-2010, 22:39   #1

Boat: 1974 Peterson 1/4 Ton 25'
Outboard Suggestion, Please

Hi. i've just bought my first real sail boat, a 1974 Doug Peterson 1/4 ton 25'. It came with sails, a tiller, a few anchors, a first aid kit and a Suzuki 4hp that looks like it survived a small riot. It runs, sort of. but not well enough for me to trust it. ( you have to invert yourself 5' to start it hanging over the rear safety ropes when it dies )

I've been researching Torqeedo for about 2 months as i REALLY wanted to go that route. But once all's said I can't help but agree with the old salts who say ' i don't wish to be a beta tester for an overly proud German engineering company' trying to show the world how great their engineering is. It IS, really. but the final product just does not seem to work well enough. Nobody ( end users, not corporate lake bound buyers ) is buying the 2.0 and 4.0 models. The few you can track down often have 'rest of the story' tales of repeated parts failures, prop damage, etc.

So two days ago I pulled the plug on that dream. But that left me with a barely working 4hp to get in and out with, not to mention emergencies. ( we just had 1/4" hail here. Half hour from San Francisco. COOL! but.... is the world ending? ) I need an outboard. And one which will push this tub at a resonable speed.