Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-05-2004, 06:40   #1

Buying Bad Boats

I'm new to buying boats, but the whole brokerage business seems a funny field. Are there any recognized national standards of conduct, legally or ethically? I know realtors have codified ethics and legal obligations that protect the buyer.

For example, less than a year ago, I turned down a home-built, steel 46-footer. Among other reasons for turning the boat down was that the surveyor said that the hull needed numerous pits in the steel filled and a few small areas of plates replaced as a result of galvanic corrosion. Also, the engine was questionable and the interior needed, in my opinion, a full gut.

The boat was cheap and soon was off the market, sold I assumed. Then, a few months later, I saw the boat for sale again, this time by a foreign broker. But fresh pictures showed the hull with the same ground out areas where the ultrasound was done but the price had gone up over 4 times the original asking price. The hull clearly was not properly repainted and so I'm sure no plates were replaced. When I asked the new broker what, if any repairs to the engine or hull had been done on the boat, he only said that the boat had been sold.

Though there are other ways that this scenario may have gone down, it seems that either someone is flipping the boat or the original owner has decided that the boat was worth far more than the original asking price despite the hull deterioration. I also am aware that some people make their livings by buffing up old boats, often concealing defects, and then selling them for a big profit.