Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-09-2010, 17:08   #1

BVI to Forida Advice, Please

I am delivering my 47' Stevens from BVI to Key West in late December/ early January and need some advice. My plan is to go north of PR and DR and Haiti, following the Antilles current. But, I get confused after that. Should we go north of Cuba and hang a right at Havana? Or, should we take the windward passage south between haiti and Cuba and sail along the S side of Cuba then head NE toward key West? If we go north of Havana, how do we know when to cross the gulf stream?

I've sailed a lot, raced, cruised, etc, but this is my first time encountering the gulf stream and other currents so any advice would be greatly appreciated. And, any advice about stopping/provisioning along the way would also be appreciated.
iamlindat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2010, 18:41   #2
Eternal Member

Boat: Vancouver 36 cutter????
Send a message via Skype™ to capt_douglas
The north side of Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic and Haiti do not have a surplus of safe havens.

Having delivered sailboats, sport fish, and yachts, I'd suggest the south side of these islands as you'll have better conditions and refuge in case things go bad. The winds will be ENE-ESE or on your stern and if you stay a dozen or so miles off the islands you should have a pleasant ride.

I'd turn to starboard between Haiti and Cuba and take the Windward Passage North (watch out for unlit fishing boats, long lines, and garbage) then turn to port and follow the Old Bahama Channel (between the N coast of Cuba and the Bahama Bank).

The Bahama Channel is fairly crowded with big tankers and inter-island ferries, but is a nice ride.