Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-03-2009, 16:29   #1

Boat: Pearson 31-2
Iota 45 Cable Sizing

My charger arrived with very little documentation. What size wires to the battery have you other Iota guys used?

I'm no expert but it seems 45amp wire is overkill since it spends so little time at full power. The run is going to be very short(2-3ft).
Aquah0lic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 17:01   #2

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: None at this time
How long do you think it would take to overheat undersized wires?

Don't forget the fuses!
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 17:09   #3
Eternal Member

I'd use AWG4 wire. That would give you a voltage drop of about 0.1v with a run of 8' (4' each way).

By the way, unlike most chargers, the Iota is capable of putting out full power for quite awhile if your batteries need it. It will hang in there above 40A output if needed. Depends on the state-of-charge of your batteries.

Bill
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2009, 17:19   #4

Cruisers Forum Supporter

http://www.iotaengineering.com/pplib/dlsmanl.pdf

You are right, they don't provide much information.
Old 16-03-2009, 17:23   #5

Boat: Sceptre 41
I believe that #4 wire is the biggest that will fit in the Iota chargers. The charger that I purchased two years ago did not meet ABYC standards b/c it only had a compresion screw to hold the #4 wire and not a plate. I don't know if they are still manufactured that way.

I don't know if this was the best idea but I added a little solder to the end of the wire which made it so that it wouldn't splay the wires as much. I tried to compress this while it was still warm so that the shape of the screw would be held in the wire. Great chargers.

Charlie