Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-02-2016, 22:18   #16
Registered User
 
Oceanride007's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Boat in Whitsundays, heading south.
Boat: Custom Perry Passport 41, steel
Posts: 339
Re: vyacht Wi-fi...... HELP please

Just as a experiment, I did turn my W8 lap-top into a Router, and it worked fine (iBall softAP). However I connected my GPS Puck into the laptop made sure it was working, and I rather wished that nmea data from GPS would appear in (DeskTop, Tablet, Mobile) all failed, but good with internet.
Seems I need something else, any suggestions.
__________________

__________________
Oceanride007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2016, 05:37   #17
Registered User
 
Rock-Head's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Boat: 1978 Lancer 30 MkIV
Posts: 150
Re: vyacht Wi-fi...... HELP please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oceanride007 View Post
Just as a experiment, I did turn my W8 lap-top into a Router, and it worked fine (iBall softAP). However I connected my GPS Puck into the laptop made sure it was working, and I rather wished that nmea data from GPS would appear in (DeskTop, Tablet, Mobile) all failed, but good with internet.
Seems I need something else, any suggestions.
Yeah, don't fit a round peg to a square hole. A USB GPS puck connected to a pc is not going to share it's data, cross platform, with other devices by virtue of your desktop running router software.

My suggestion: set up your "desktop", get the software running on the pc, sensors, etc then RDP from other devices to the pc.

Easy.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
__________________

__________________
Rock-Head is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2016, 08:38   #18
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: vyacht Wi-fi...... HELP please

You can have the puck work under say OpenCPN and OpenCPN can share the nmea gps data as well as any other data over the ethernet. HOWEVER since you want to use the ethernet link to deliver the Internet to the V toy I think you may have a hard time trying to 'share the cable' - port forwarding, adapter bridging, etc. - make sure you are not making a simple task hard.

Neither am I sure the V thing forwards ethernet nmea data over the wireless, does it? I think it only multiplexes and broadcasts data from the two serial connectors? If so, then why push puck data onto the cable?

Vyacht has connectors for nmea data - so you can just plug in the nmea cables into it and that's that. If you insist on PC for the Internet then as others mentioned - you can bridge the wifi and the ethernet on the PC and then share the Internet from the computer to the V thing over the ethernet cable. As I said, the same can be achieved without PC, simply sharing a wifi extender data over the ethernet (a wifi extender with eth socket required), an alternative is a 3/4G capable router (if you take your Internet from the 3/4G source).

You can often configure anything to do whatever you want. But why.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-2016, 13:17   #19
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Sydney, Australia
Boat: Huon 33
Posts: 96
Re: vyacht Wi-fi...... HELP please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock-Head View Post
I don't think you specified your operating system yet, just that you have a "computer". You could be running Linux for all I know... If it's windows, here's a link that might provide some insight into what you are trying to do.

Using ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) - Windows Help


If it's Win10, here's a neat little piece of software to make your PC a hotspot.

How to turn your Windows 10 PC into a Wi-Fi hotspot

Good luck!
Thanks...... it's actually Windows 8 system.... I don't think either of those links are entirely correct for my system, however they have pointed me in the right direction.... right clicking on a connection gives the option to "bridge connections"....... I guess this will work. I will check it out when next on board.....
__________________

__________________
Gi-Lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lease, yacht

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help, need help finiding ocean travel! anguilla1980 Our Community 13 14-10-2015 17:33
West Systems 407 Filler Question - Please, Please HELP! Amigo Construction, Maintenance & Refit 22 22-09-2009 06:24
Help please! I can't see thumbnail pics Knottygirlz Forum Tech Support & Site Help 3 05-07-2006 23:58
Help, Please - Greece and Turkey swagman Europe & Mediterranean 10 27-10-2005 08:41
Perkins V8 Idle Fast - PLEASE HELP Holding Pattern Engines and Propulsion Systems 7 16-08-2005 03:07



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.