Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2013, 21:05   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Raymarine C120 screen issue - with videos

I've had my boat for 2 months and no issues until today with Raymarine C120 chart plotter. When I turned on plotter today the screen was "fuzzy". See these video to see what I mean. After unplugging and replugging in all the connectors on the back nothing worked. It got worst and worst for 2 hours, then BAM, it was back to normal. Not sure what happened, but I'd like to avoid it happening again. Any thoughts?

Raymarine C120 - Screen Issues I - YouTube
Raymarine C120 - Screen Issues II - YouTube

These video show my issue.

Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
mctdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 22:46   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Boat: Hunter 40 Legend
Posts: 169
Re: Raymarine C120 screen issue - with videos

I would suggest the video card in the plotter is on the way out. If in warranty, send back to Raymarine! If not, start looking for a replacement.

If your keen.........open her up and look for a dry or broken solder line or joint.
__________________

__________________
Regards Craig
40 South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 22:50   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Re: Raymarine C120 screen issue - with videos

Any idea if just the video card can be replaced, or do I need a whole new chart plotter?
__________________
mctdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 23:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Boat: Hunter 40 Legend
Posts: 169
Re: Raymarine C120 screen issue - with videos

Not familiar with the insides of the Raymarine. I have opened up a Northstar and it was all one board. Raymarine is probably the same. Check with Raymarine re the configuration.
I would suspect they would not sell you a card even if it was replaceable, they want the service fees.

I'd be looking for a replacement. You may pick up one on eBay. Consider the peripherals you may have attached, are they going to work with a new machine?
__________________
Regards Craig
40 South is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 07:00   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Boat: PDQ 32 DogHouse
Posts: 600
Not sure about the C120 but my C70 has a press fit edge connector on the right side of the screen. I often get a poor connection when the boats been sitting awhile. If I run my finger pressing on the right side of the screen it usually goes away. If not, then I shift the screen around by just pressing in the center while trying to move it around in all directions. Been doing this for awhile and still works.
__________________
amytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 07:44   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oriental, NC
Boat: Mainship Pilot 34
Posts: 1,429
Re: Raymarine C120 screen issue - with videos

I had a similar problem on my C80. Sent it to Raymarine and they fixed it for $100. The local Raymarine tech said it was a bad video driver chip.

David
__________________

__________________
djmarchand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine, screen

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.