Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2016, 12:48   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
SilentOption's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Coast of America and Keys
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 415
Raymarine B&G NMEA 2000 connection

I want to have 1 Wind transducer and display the output via NMEA 2000 to an Raymarine i60 display and a B&G Zeus

Any thoughts on if the wind sensor should be Raymarines or B&G?

Does anyone have different brands networked?

Thanks

Bill
__________________

__________________
SilentOption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 13:49   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Raymarine B&G NMEA 2000 connection

If everything is true nmea2000 compliant, then there is no issue at all using whatever gear you want. We have a Maretron wind instrument that feeds our furuno, Simrad and b&g gear. It also gets broadcasted over WiFi to our computers and tablets.

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 11:20   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
SilentOption's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Coast of America and Keys
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 415
Re: Raymarine B&G NMEA 2000 connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
If everything is true nmea2000 compliant, then there is no issue at all using whatever gear you want. We have a Maretron wind instrument that feeds our furuno, Simrad and b&g gear. It also gets broadcasted over WiFi to our computers and tablets.

Mark

Thanks for the reply. Can you tell me what wind sensor you are using.

Bill


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
SilentOption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 11:42   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Raymarine B&G NMEA 2000 connection

You must keep a clear vision of n2k sensors vs. n2k instruments.

With some manufacturers, there are sensors that feed raw data (non n2k data) to the instrument (the grey box on your panel) and this instrument converts this data into n2k data. Beyond the instrument, you have nk2 compatibility BUT a sensor like this cannot be used without the grey box.

There are however also proper nk2 SENSORS. These are advertised to work with any nk2 display. The 'grey box' can be omitted.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 11:48   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Raymarine B&G NMEA 2000 connection

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentOption View Post
Thanks for the reply. Can you tell me what wind sensor you are using.

Bill


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum

Maretron WSO100 ultrasonic.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 11:55   #6
Registered User
 
travellerw's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Martinique
Boat: Fortuna Island Spirit 40
Posts: 1,718
Re: Raymarine B&G NMEA 2000 connection

I'm pretty sure this sensor is true NMEA 2000 compliant.

B&G Triton Wind Sensor

However, you are going to have some cable riddles to figure out as the Ramarine gear has proprietary cables. Unless you have already built your NMEA backbone, then this sensor simple extends your backbone to the top of the mast. You must consider installation carefully as this sensor must be inserted in the backbone and cannot be a Spur/Drop cable.

Nice thing about this sensor is B&G uses a proprietary connector for the masthead that is MUCH smaller than a standard Micro-C connector. The other end (at the bottom of the mast) is a standar Micro-C.
__________________
travellerw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 11:57   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
SilentOption's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Coast of America and Keys
Boat: Beneteau 473
Posts: 415
Re: Raymarine B&G NMEA 2000 connection

Thanks.
Reading about the ultrasonic sensor now.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
SilentOption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, nmea, nmea 2000, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B&G H1000 to Nmea 2000 ben373 Marine Electronics 1 23-05-2015 23:40
NEW AIS Bundle NMEA 2000,0183,USB & wifi Neptune's Gear Vendor Spotlight - Great Deals for CF Members! 6 15-11-2013 14:09
NMEA 2000 and Raymarine MJWEENZ Marine Electronics 44 23-02-2012 18:34
NMEA Connection - Furuno GP-33 to RL-9 Radar Jaden44 Marine Electronics 5 03-11-2011 18:39
Help with NMEA Connection ? cheoah Marine Electronics 17 29-07-2011 19:02



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.