Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-06-2012, 13:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
NAVMAN WIND & Raymarine Windvane Compatibility?

Is NAVMAN 3100 series WIND module compatible with the st-60 Raymarine windvane. I cannot get replacement for my Navman unit so is the raymarine 5-wire vane will work?
__________________

Saileur40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 15:46   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,328
Re: NAVMAN WIND & Raymarine windvane compatibility?

I would guess they may be incompatible. I have seen Ray using SeaTalk, Navman using NMEA.

I believe for Navman search on Plastimo instruments (there is a 'new' series out there).

b.
__________________

barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 19:21   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 12,339
Re: NAVMAN WIND & Raymarine windvane compatibility?

G'Day Saileur,

I have just been through this drama with an older Standard Horizon/Navman windpoint. Found in my case that the masthead unit was fine, but that there was an open circuit in one of the five wires in the cable. Unfortunately, the fault lay within the "block" at the masthead that the actual sensor wand plugs into. After a lot of agonizing, a more talented than I pal volunteered to get it apart and fix it. He succeeded, too! He was able to remove the potting in the block with a combination of grinding and then using a hot air gun to soften the remaining epoxy. The fault was a corroded solder joint at the back of one of the pins. We discovered a similar fault in a second cable that I was able to locate, so It seems possible that your system is similar.

The simple test is to bring the masthead unit down and plug it directly into the display head, and then test for functionality. If you haven't done this, give it a try.

Good luck

Jim
__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Pittwater, NSW fora while.
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 02:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Re: NAVMAN WIND & Raymarine windvane compatibility?

Ok thank you both.
Saileur40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine, wind, windvane

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.