Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-07-2018, 06:36   #1
Registered User
 
gbillman's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central east coast of FL
Boat: Robertson and Caine Leopard 40
Posts: 65
Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

I have used AC for years on multiple devices, including my Raymarine MFD, MX Mariner, Locations, etc. Obviously, i can no longer get updates.

I downloaded the GarminAC app to my tablet so i can see updated data. The displayed chart is almost useless. The app requires pairing it to a Garmin device to download better charts. Since i do not have a Garmin MFD, is there any way i can upload better charts to my AC tablet app?
__________________

gbillman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2018, 06:45   #2
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 3,562
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

I think I read elsewhere that Will Kamp (the MX Mariner developer) wil be phasing AC support back into the app... as he incorporates changes necessary for the new European privacy issues.

You might check with him to confirm... last e-mail address I had for Will Kamp was <manimaul@gmail.com>

-Chris
__________________

__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2018, 07:15   #3
Registered User
 
gbillman's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central east coast of FL
Boat: Robertson and Caine Leopard 40
Posts: 65
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger42c View Post
I think I read elsewhere that Will Kamp (the MX Mariner developer) wil be phasing AC support back into the app... as he incorporates changes necessary for the new European privacy issues.

You might check with him to confirm... last e-mail address I had for Will Kamp was <manimaul@gmail.com>

-Chris
Thanks Chris. I just emailed Will and will post his reply here.
gbillman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2018, 11:29   #4
Registered User
 
gbillman's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central east coast of FL
Boat: Robertson and Caine Leopard 40
Posts: 65
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbillman View Post
Thanks Chris. I just emailed Will and will post his reply here.
Looks like you were correct.

Here's Will's response to my email:
"MX Mariner including Garmin ActiveCaptain support is now available to beta testers. You can opt in or out of being a MX Mariner beta tester at any time here:*https://play.google.com/apps/testing/mx.mariner* Official Garmin ActiveCaptain support will likely roll out next week."

I signed on as a tester and am in process of app updates right now. So far, so good.
gbillman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2018, 10:52   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 32
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Many people seem to be moving from BlueChart Mobil to Aquamap, which already supports AC and has a number of interesting features.
arthur.watson.1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2018, 11:30   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Canada
Boat: Fountaine Pajot Antigua 37
Posts: 146
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

I have a Garmin 540 Chartplotter, a Garmin Virb underwater camera, also a Garmin InReach Explorer. However none of the stuff or accounts with Garmin intermix?
Garmin Active Captain has twice sent me an email c/w a link about updating my account before I lose my user name, both times I get a link that's a blank page? I sent them a return message indicating the problem and no response?

I think the AC thing is screwed up, I'm going to try working with the new Waterways App instead and just use my good old Cruising Guide to the Bahamas. It's got tons of info without the B*@+*@t!
wannacat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2018, 14:01   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seal Cove, ME
Boat: Cheoy Lee Clipper 42 schooner
Posts: 51
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by arthur.watson.1 View Post
Many people seem to be moving from BlueChart Mobil to Aquamap, which already supports AC and has a number of interesting features.
No use to this sailor, as I'm not an iOS user, nor do I plan to become one. C-Map's Plan2Nav wasn't stellar, but it was cost effective. I've come to depend on AC over the last 4 or 5 years. Disappointing that Siegel's vision and product has been so badly screwed up by Garmin.
__________________
Roger Noble
S/V Alchemy, Cheoy Lee Clipper 42 Schooner
Seal Cove, Maine
rogern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2018, 17:17   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ormond Beach, Florida
Boat: 1988 Wilbur 34
Posts: 179
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogern View Post
No use to this sailor, as I'm not an iOS user, nor do I plan to become one. C-Map's Plan2Nav wasn't stellar, but it was cost effective. I've come to depend on AC over the last 4 or 5 years. Disappointing that Siegel's vision and product has been so badly screwed up by Garmin.
Yes, truly a shame. This gets back to "If it ain't broke, don'e fix it."
Seighlor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2018, 17:55   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seal Cove, ME
Boat: Cheoy Lee Clipper 42 schooner
Posts: 51
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seighlor View Post
Yes, truly a shame. This gets back to "If it ain't broke, don'e fix it."
Roger that. I suppose Siegel was offered a bundle by Garmin, who, faced with the end of their automotive GPS business, was (is?) on a little buying spree, gobbling up Delorme and AC to regain their space in the marine market. That said, they're still based in Topeka.
__________________
Roger Noble
S/V Alchemy, Cheoy Lee Clipper 42 Schooner
Seal Cove, Maine
rogern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2018, 05:45   #10
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 3,562
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by wannacat View Post
Garmin Active Captain has twice sent me an email c/w a link about updating my account before I lose my user name, both times I get a link that's a blank page? I sent them a return message indicating the problem and no response?

If you're trying to access Garmin's new AC website, and that's when you get a blank page...

Note that the site needs you to agree to accepting 3rd party cookies...

So your web browser settings may be the issue, perhaps if you have restrictive privacy settings...

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2018, 06:10   #11
Registered User
 
gbillman's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Central east coast of FL
Boat: Robertson and Caine Leopard 40
Posts: 65
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbillman View Post
Looks like you were correct.

Here's Will's response to my email:
"MX Mariner including Garmin ActiveCaptain support is now available to beta testers. You can opt in or out of being a MX Mariner beta tester at any time here:*https://play.google.com/apps/testing/mx.mariner* Official Garmin ActiveCaptain support will likely roll out next week."

I signed on as a tester and am in process of app updates right now. So far, so good.
update: after signing on as a tester for the upgraded MXMariner, I had to update my charts (free) and had to re-sign into my AC account from MXMariner setup page. After the system updated itself (about a 5 minute process with the connection I had), MXMariner started up fine and displayed up-to-date AC data. Success.

Now I need to find a way to get AC to work again on my Raymarine e97 MFD. Somehow I doubt that will be easy or even possible.
gbillman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2018, 04:26   #12
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 3,562
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by gbillman View Post
update: after signing on as a tester for the upgraded MXMariner, I had to update my charts (free) and had to re-sign into my AC account from MXMariner setup page. After the system updated itself (about a 5 minute process with the connection I had), MXMariner started up fine and displayed up-to-date AC data. Success.

Thanks, useful to know.

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2018, 11:02   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TX
Boat: Whitby 42
Posts: 138
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Is MXMariner available for download? I have not found it on the Play Store.
BobHorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2018, 12:04   #14
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 1,417
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobHorn View Post
Is MXMariner available for download? I have not found it on the Play Store.
I found it at this link:

CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-09-2018, 15:11   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: TX
Boat: Whitby 42
Posts: 138
Re: Garmin ActiveCaptain sans Garmin MFD

Really strange, I get that on my Android phone but Play Store on the tablet doesn't find it.
__________________

BobHorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
captain, garmin

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfacing existing RL70C MFD with c120 MFD Malco123 Marine Electronics 2 06-02-2018 10:07
Polynesia to NZ Sans Watermaker getlostonpurpose Pacific & South China Sea 10 20-04-2009 17:38



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.