Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2015, 11:53   #1

Boat: (none)
Re: Medical Equipment AED Onboard

Being a Critical Care nurse, I was very tempted to comment on some responses. Instead I decided not to make enemies of strangers and just congratulate the OP for thinking about safety. Having an AED aboard certainly can't hurt anything! All the ones I'm familiar with are Idiot Proof. A trained chimp could operate one. If someone's dead on deck, using an AED won't make them deadder if it doesn't work. If it does work, well... they'll be glad you had it handy.
TPA? That's another story... Oops, I wasn't going to write that...
farmall.dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2015, 13:12   #2

Boat: Leopard 40 Catamaran

There are many more qualified than me here, but for what its worth, here's my tuppence.

There is a strong relationship between speed of intervention and survival.

In the events we are concerned with, speed of intervention is not a problem. CPR can be started immediately to keep the life blood pumping while a third crew member (ideally) preps the AED.
The patient now has a chance of survival, and those chances are dramatically higher than if this had happened at your house and you'd called the paramedics.

My greatest fear is loosing my wife overboard and i'm about to invest in, among other things, a DSC, AIS, SART PLB to pin to her bikini or braid in her hair... If she needs it, I am likely to be the only chance she has. I'll break her ribs, follow the guiding voice on the AED and pray.

The likely scenarios are MOB and subsequent drowning, or electric shock.
People want to talk about fatality rates and chances of success.
If you really want to know about survival odds, we need to look at the right scenarios...