Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-10-2007, 19:15   #1

pearson 424 ketch???

Hey, Im still looking for "the" boat. I have come across a 42ft pearson 424 ketch. Just wonderd if anyone has any knowledge that might be helpful. Also, I have never sailed a ketch. Any opinions on the advantages or disadvantages of this setup are welcome.
jerryscooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2007, 21:21   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Now boatless :-(
I have no experience with the boat but a large number of multi-masters would revert to a sloop or cutter rig if given the chance.

It depends on how much you sail and with how many people on board. We have good friends with a 51 foot ketch and getting them to go sailing requires a destination, some distance and some planning to make the effort worthwhile for them with just 2 aboard.

All our sloop and cutter friends with furled sails will come out on a moments notice.
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2007, 22:28   #3

Thanks Ex-Calif! I plan to live aboard here in Charleston, SC. for a year. Id want to spend at least that amount of time on the boat before I cruise. My last boat was a 36 ft Scanmar. Great boat, sloop rigged with everything running to the cockpit. Just not sure how much more effort it wll take to sail this boat. She has everything running to the cockpit as well. People I have met and talked to, as well as my friends who sail, seem to be split down the middle.