Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2015, 19:36   #31
cruiser

Boat: Kettenburg K40
Re: Need help for Food on sailing trip

Interesting thread.....

My 2 cents after spending 8-9 months with only a backpack on, I have to say the Bear Creek line is great. I used alot of flour, refined, corn and wheat, rice, beans and a bunch of pasta. One thing I started watching was protien, it's hard to get enough of a balance when burning 3-3500 cals a day.

Now fast fwd couple years, living aboard and I'm basically eating the same! Been 6 months since a pint of ice cream passed the hatch, and a fresh salad is a delicacy.

You can be amazed what you can do with oatmeal, corn mush, raisins , honey and such. Spices to live by are cinnamon and basil for me.

I started studying some old books on the foods of the indigenous people and found a wealth of info, and was amazed.

Whatever works for you, variety helps.

With that and 2 cents you can get...........well nothing. enjoy
ur2slo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 20:42   #32

NO! No oatmeal! If you make me oatmeal for breakfast I will rip out your juvenile heart with my Swedish fid and fry it up with the eggs and tortillas you were supposed to cook for me. But you could make some nice, fat oatmeal cookies at home and bring them along for snacks if you like. Or granola cookies! That would be even better. Except don't put raisins in them! If you put raisins in my cookies, I will wrap your teenage feet in an Alpine butterfly and haul you up by the main halyard until every raisin is removed from every cookie, as you hang upside down.