Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2013, 16:01   #1

Boat: Rafiki 35
Water in Cylinders

Hi, I tried to start my yanmar today and after a few minutes that Icould not start it, the engine began to throw salt water through the air intake. Then I realized that my water separation filter was half empty. I closed the water intake, and open the decompression valves on my engine, but by then my battery was out. I understand that the water got into the engine due to my excessive starting, but ow should I get the remaining water out of the cylinders?
mikogold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2013, 16:18   #2

Re: Water in Cylinders

If their is water in cylinder I would remove glow plugs or injectors.. I am not a boat mechanic but that's what I would for cars. The Diesel engine has very high compression if u were able to crank the engine over till battery died.. I don't think u had water in cylinder
mbkite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2013, 16:20   #3

Boat: PETERSON 44
Yikes. Pull the exhaust discharge manifold. Suck out the water with wet dry vac. Pull the injectors suck the water out. Change the oil. Turn the engine with a hand crank. Spray mystery oil into the cylinders from the open injector ports. Hand crank some more. That's about all I can come up with. Good luck.
sabray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2013, 16:39   #4

there is no water in the oil, it was sucked from the exhaust. My question is how to get the remaining water out of the cylindersor or if i should bleed it and try to start it as is.
If I remove the injectors and turn the engine over with the starter I should get the remaining water out, is this correct?
is there a better way to get rid of the water?
Old 13-10-2013, 16:45   #5

Boat: 15 foot Canoe