Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-10-2012, 10:56   #1

Host a Scientific Expedition!

Hi Sailing World!

Are you searching for something new and exciting? A huge learning experience? A chance to have an impact on science and education? Perhaps some cruising with a non-sailing goal in mind? Host a scientific expedition on your ship!

Sorry for the long post (and cross posting), but I want to get as much information out there as I can!

I am a biologist working on a study of the Arachnids of the Caribbean. This is a very large international project that is taking place over a period of at least 5 years. So far we have made trips or plans for trips to all of the Greater Antilles Islands: Puerto Rico, Cuba, Hispaniola, Jamaica (coming 2013). However, one of the really big limitations for us is visiting all of the hundreds of smaller islands in the Caribbean. We are searching for boats of any sort who are cruising in the Caribbean and are interested in hosting a small group of scientists aboard their ship.

Here are our needs:
1) Any size and any type vessel cruising anywhere in the Caribbean (excluding the large islands in the North).

2) Space aboard for 2 (possibly more?) people.

2) A small area inside or out where we can sit at a table (while anchored) and look at stuff in microscopes.

3) Space for minimal equipment (2 large duffel bags).

4) A willingness to anchor for at least 2 days on each island visited.

Here is what we are willing to offer:
1) A wealth of natural history knowledge of the Caribbean. Just think of us as your personal nature guide.

2) We are really good cooks!

3) We are even harder workers and willing to help crew the boat (limited experience but we are fast learners).

4) We are a fun time! (Not all scientists are boring)

5) If you have kids we are happy to do some education exchange.