Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Closed Thread
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-06-2010, 10:20   #61

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intoxicat View Post
LOL. I wish you were right. I'm a land surveyor. In the office two or three days a week and in the woods the other two or three. The good thing is its not too much like work. I'm essentially a professional hiker that has to keep meticulous notes.
Enjoy
What did your dad do?
Old 07-06-2010, 11:35   #62

Boat: Cal 2-46
I can't believe no one has suggested getting a small boat to get experience on. One of my primary interests with sailing is the continuous learning curve.

You will save a lot and be more knowledgeable if you gain experience in the mean time. I would recommend not buying the boat you plan to retire on yet.
Old 22-06-2010, 23:39   #63

Boat: Duncanson 29, 29', Lea Rig
ZuiQuan, i like your plan and there is some good advice given here. without getting too deep i would advise to get a property as you need somewhere to live and interest on a property or a boat is still interest in the end and as you are in the finance industry i dont need to tell you about good debt & bad debt ...
a property always goes up in value and will provide income forever - especially in 20 yrs with your labradour, wife and 3 kids ;o)
boat chartering was an investment option in Australia once and then the tax system changed and it wasn't any longer. different countires have different laws so it could be better for you, but boats wont appreciate in capital gain and the income will reduce with the boat age. will you still want that same boat in 18yrs?