Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Construction, Maintenance & Refit
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2020, 17:57   #1

Boat: Hudson Force 50 Center Cockpit
Mooring and anchoring from the bob stay fitting

I know there are several threads dedicated to this here already and this post is not really to discuss the merits or demerits of this practice but more of what would it take to make the hull structurally sound enough for this to be safe to do if I choose to do it? The most common statement I here when discussing this practice is “ That fitting was not designed for that”. So what would it look like if it had been?

I am no engineer and I have no way to calculate how thick the layup would need to be to withstand the shock loads and side loads this fitting would endure in practice. The current hull thickness at the bow is 3/4" give or take a little.

The pictures I have attached are of the current new bob stay fitting with proposed side plates that would be fully welded to the fitting to give it more lateral stability. I have up-sized the material of the main body of the fitting from 3/8" plate to 1/2" thick 316 stainless and the 4 bolts are 1/2" diameter. The side plate bolts will be the same and the plate thickness is ¼”. The other pictures are of the inside of the hull at the bow after it was opened up for inspection.