Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2021, 08:49   #1

Dufour 485/525 or Oceanis 45

Hi all,
I am looking to buy a boat to cruise the Med for a couple of weeks a year with my family. I am rather new to boating but did do some charters in Greece.
I am having a look at some Dufour 485/525 (don't see much difference, 525 only 2 ft longer) from 2007/9 and at an Oceanis 45 from 2012. I find storage (both have sail locker) rather important as well as inside seating at both sides (seems comfortable to be able to sit regardless side the boat, or is this completely irrelevant). The Dufours are a bit more equiped with electric winches and teak deck and have additional space in the transom but the Oceanis has the nice swimming platform.
Any experiences, thoughts other boats to consider (I also considered Jeanneau but many boats in the Med have more heads than my house has bathrooms which I really detest).
mabedicha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2021, 02:59   #2

Re: Dufour 485/525 or Oceanis 45

I would go with the Oceanis. So much more comfortable and fit for Med cruising. The design is fresh and up-to-date. And it works, they’ve been tested in charter, schools, Med cruise, ocean passage making etc.. . Lot of boat for the price no matter how much better are the boats that cost twice. Dufour is great too. Easier to maintain and more resilient wit the wear and tear, no liner and spartan interior make for easy to keep clean and looking good.