Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-06-2017, 08:46   #1

Free Pearson commander 26

Hello all, I am a new member and this is my first post!

I found this boat listen on Craigslist for free.

A little about myself, I have no experience with sailboats and have never even been on one, but I've become enthralled with the idea of cruising, living aboard, and traveling the world. However that goal is a long way off, and I have a ton to learn in the meantime. For now I would like to know if this boat is worthwhile, or does it look to be a waste of time? I found an article online that said Pearson's were not intended for blue water cruising. Thoughts?

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0495.JPG
Views:	854
Size:	80.0 KB
ID:	150556
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0496.JPG
Views:	1034
Size:	29.6 KB
ID:	150557
cjbeane01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2017, 09:32   #2

Boat: Newport 28
Re: Free Pearson commander 26

It depends on your goal. As a stepping stone to learn and gather skills, it would be fine, especially since she's already floating which is a step above some! But if you are intending to use this to use to travel the world, you might be better off looking elsewhere. But to learn on, a great size boat and will teach you a lot while you go.
Old 24-06-2017, 13:12   #3

Boat: 1977 Clipper Marine 32'

Free, but is she sailable? The cost of outfitting an old boat will shock you. Sails standing rigging, running rigging, anchors, electrical, so many things. You need to check and see if you can take her out with out a ton of money sunk into her first. You may be better off paying for a used, sailable boat and start learning how to sail rather than taking a free boat and learning how to restore it to the point of being able to sail.