Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > The Fleet > Monohull Sailboats
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-10-2020, 10:21   #1

SOUTHERLY 100 - ? Right boat?

I have been an avid reader of forum posts for some years but this is my first post and it is a request for help in deciding if a SOUTHERLY 100 would be a good choice for me.
I sail on the East Coast of the UK mostly in the Medway and Thames Estuary, I keep my boat in a locked marina and mostly sail singlehanded. I am now reaching my senior years(74) but am fit and still quite agile. I have been sailing a MacGregor 26M for the past 3 years mostly day sails. I am beginning to find it quite tiring when the wind is above F3 even with reefs in as the boat heals a great deal in gusts (45degrees+) and I think a heavier and more stable boat would be more suitable.
I have found a really superb SOUTHERLY 100 and want to know if forum members would think it suitable for my needs and especially if I could manage it single handed.
It does not have a bow thruster so I am wondering how easy it would be to negotiate the marina lock etc.
Your valued comments would be most appreciated.
PLINY AD79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2020, 11:23   #2

Boat: Farr 40 (Racing), Contest 43 (Cruising)
Re: SOUTHERLY 100 - ? Right boat?

a Southerly 100 should be an excellent boat for your plans with both sailing and space features. Bow thruster is very rare at smaller boats and while I don't know how tight is your marina, it should normally maneuver well and provide you much safer conditions.