Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-02-2020, 15:48   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Bowen QLD AU
Boat: Miller & Whitworth 32 Sloop
Posts: 2
Depth Sounder Works?!

Dear Forum Members
I have an unusual question ....my boat is out of the water and I have an old Raymarine depth sounder system, can , if I turn my instruments on , I get a DEPTH SOUNDING?? Remember the boat is out of the water. If yes can I then adjust my sounder to an accurate reading.....

Thanks in advance Rick
__________________

rickpyne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2020, 15:49   #2
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: C.L.O.D.
Posts: 10,253
Re: DEPTH SOUNDER WORKS?

No, at least nothing accurate IIRC.
__________________

__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 04:52   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 37,011
Images: 241
Re: Depth Sounder Works?!

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Rick.
No.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 06:09   #4
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 28,742
Re: Depth Sounder Works?!

Needs water to transmit the signal, but it won’t hurt it turn it on to try.

Silly as this sounds, I calibrated mine by slowly running aground at a speed that I knew I could back off.

I guess a more intelligent person could measure the depth from the waterline to the xducer and then program that number as the offset, but I ran aground instead
a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 06:13   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami
Boat: CAL39MKII and EDELCAT33
Posts: 171
Images: 2
Re: Depth Sounder Works?!

Are you trying to determine if the sounder works?
Depending on how much clearance from the ground, you could build a column of water using a bucket and a trash bag that has two openings, one for the hose and one for air to scape and later water as you want continuous flow. The rim of the trashbag can use flexible material to temporarily adhere to the hull hugging above the transducer to ensure complete immersion

Or

Just buy a new transducer and take that variable out of your doubts
carlosproa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 06:41   #6
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 12,936
Images: 14
Re: DEPTH SOUNDER WORKS?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wotname View Post
No, at least nothing accurate IIRC.
Agreed, but whilst the boat is out of the water:

A. Check your actual keel depth, not what the manufacturer advertised, but your now when you have had to raise the waterline to deal with all the stuff on board we all consider essential.

B. Measure the transducer to keel bottom.

C. Measure the transducer to existing waterline.

Then when the boat is next in the water you can adjust it to what you want, either absolute depth of water from the surface, or under the transducer, or under the keel.

Ours is set at under the transducer for no particular reason other than that's what we started with, but know that we can just float in 1 metre, a nice round number on the ST60 display.
Pete7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 06:46   #7
running down a dream

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: somewhere in the deep south
Posts: 1,908
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to gonesail
Re: Depth Sounder Works?!

easiest way to calibrate is at the slip. use a lead line to check and go from there. i want the instrument to show the depth from the waterline.
__________________
some of the best times of my life were spent on a boat. it just took a long time to realize it

gonesail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 07:10   #8
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 37,011
Images: 241
Re: Depth Sounder Works?!

A quick way to check if the transmitter stage & transducer are working at all is to feel the face of the transducer, with the sounder running, you should be able to feel the pulses, or hear the transducer ticking.
The Amplitude Modulated (AM radio) carrier frequencies are in the frequency range 535 - 1605 kHz (10kHz intervals), and FM radio is in the MHz range; whereas depth sounders generally operate at either 50kHz or 200kHz. Accordingly, a radio is unlikely to detect your sounder (as static); though Ive seen it suggested that they may < https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...tml#post185510 >.

FWIW: Raytheon ST-60 Digital Instruments SERVICE Manual (VERY Rare)
http://www.olajedatos.com/documentos...e%20Manual.pdf

Some earlier CF discussion:
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...er-183918.html
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...ng-218657.html
https://www.cruisersforum.com/forums...oting-775.html
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 07:30   #9
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 28,742
Re: Depth Sounder Works?!

Gord thanks for the ST60 link.

As a diver some depth sounders annoy me, most don’t. Some you feel in the back of your head as opposed to hearing it, it sounds like a spark plug snapping, an arc type of sound.
I have no idea why some you don’t hear and some are quite loud?
Most all Sounders are either 50 Hz or 200 Hz, at least our small non pro ones.

Then of course there are CHIRP sounders now, and I’ve not noticed any sound from them.
a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2020, 08:12   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2016
Boat: McCurdy & Rhodes Custom 46
Posts: 528
Depth Sounder Works?!

Thanks for the service manual link!
The microprocessor data sheet is here:
https://www.renesas.com/sg/en/doc/Do...5EJ4V1UM00.pdf
Its useful for understanding the temperature sensor adc reference voltage.
__________________

dfelsent is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth sounder, depth, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Depth sounder alarm in San Pedro Channel . . . ? Mary General Sailing Forum 15 29-10-2006 10:57
Depth Sounder Installation Steve Kidson Marine Electronics 1 12-06-2006 04:25
Depth Sounder Thru-Hull Alternative? markpj23 Marine Electronics 17 16-05-2006 22:34
Depth Sounder Troubleshooting exposure Construction, Maintenance & Refit 9 10-02-2004 15:47

Advertise Here


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.