Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-09-2015, 12:17   #1

PNW to Galapagos

Hello all,

I am new to this forum, so let me introduce myself. I am planning on moving to the PNW soon (Tacoma-Seattle area). Once there I intend on purchasing a boat with the intention of embarking on our dream vacation with my wife. I have some sailing experience, although mainly day sailing. Once we have our boat we intend on taking some longer trips to get an idea of living on the boat for an extended period of time, but still staying in the PNW. I would like some information, any you can give me, on planning for our dream vacation. We would like to leave the PNW with the intention of getting to the Galapagos, stay there for a week or two, and then sail back. I had the following questions I was hoping to get some help with:

1. About how much should I budget for the trip? (this does not include getting the boat bluewater ready, as we will be working on that from the second we get the boat so it'll be spread out over some time.
2. What is the best route to get there and back?
3. About how much time would the whole adventure take? from leaving the PNW to getting back to the Seattle area.
4. We have been looking at boats for some time now and the boat that we are most interested in is a Hunter 36. Would this boat be good for the journey ?

I have been doing as much research as I can but I cannot seem to find as much information as I'd like.

Any information that can be provided would be much appreciated. We intend on making a couple of stops along the way, maybe SF and Central America on the way there, and a couple on the way back, never for more than a day or two.

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can lend us.

-A
someday_cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote