Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-02-2018, 10:06   #1

Troubleshooting engine and house battery scheme (Beneteau)

My problem is as follows. My boat, a Beneteau, has three battery switches: One negative isolator, one positive for the starter battery and one positive for the house battery/batteries. At the moment for any of the electrics to work both positives need to be turned on, meaning the three batteries act as one battery bank with no possibility to isolate the engine battery while we're at anchor for example. If I turn on the house battery switch and let the engine battery switch remain off, nothing happens.

Attached is a picture from the owner's manual which describes how it should be connected according to the manufacturer.

Given that I'm a newbie when it comes to boat electrics, where should I start looking? What are the possible reasons for this? Or have I simply not understood the way it's supposed to work?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-02-27 at 18.51.14.png
Views:	1303
Size:	318.0 KB
ID:	165041  
xjussix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2018, 10:10   #2

Re: Troubleshooting engine and house battery scheme (Beneteau)

something is not wired right if that is happening. confirm everything is tight and the wires match the drawing.

missing the black / blue wire between battery 1 and 2 would cause that issue. or a failed house switch.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2018, 14:19   #3

Boat: Beneteau First 42

Quote:
Originally Posted by xjussix View Post