Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-10-2018, 07:25   #1

Brisbane River question

Hi there

I’m considering renting a place at Chelmer on the Brisbane River.

Would anyone have a rough idea how long it would take to boat up the river from Chelmer to the Brisbane River mouth? I would be in a 10m powerboat.

Weighing up whether it makes sense to get a place with pontoon or better to live elsewhere and get a berth near the river Mouth coast line eg Manly.

Any advice greatly appreciated. I’m new to Brisbane!

Thanks

Juliab
Jules-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2018, 14:32   #2

Boat: US$4,550 of lead under a GRP hull with cutter rig
Re: Brisbane River question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jules-1 View Post
Would anyone have a rough idea how long it would take to boat up the river from Chelmer to the Brisbane River mouth? I would be in a 10m powerboat.
Welcome to Cruisers Forum, Juliab!

Chelmer is about 22 nautical miles from the mouth of the Brisbane River, depending on your exact location.

That should give you a means of calculating your travel time up and down the river, plus fuel cost.

If your preferred cruising area includes Northern Moreton Bay, you might consider a wet berth (or dry rack storage) at such marinas as Scarborough Marina (www.scarbmarina.com.au).

If you prefer to cruise in Southern Moreton Bay, you might consider a wet berth or rack storage at one of the marinas at Wynnum-Manly, Jacob's Well, or Gold Coast City.
Old 03-10-2018, 14:37   #3

You can download a *.pdf chartlet of the Brisbane River from the website of Maritime Safety Queensland by pointing your browser to:

https://www.msq.qld.gov.au/-/media/M...acon.pdf?la=en
Old 03-10-2018, 15:30   #4

Thanks very much Alan, this is very helpful.